5* REVIEW on Rondo Magazin for NEW RELEASE ‘WEINBERG: The Four Sonatas for Solo Cello’

News: Mario Brunello

Mieczysław Weinberg

Die vier Sonaten für Violoncello solo

Mario Brunello

Arcana/Naxos A559
(86 Min., 3/2022)


“The works are tonal. Partly neoclassical, including the choice of sonata form.
The Italian cellist Mario Brunello, who previously played Mozart with Claudio Abbado’s orchestra, was introduced to Weinberg by the violinist Gidon Kremer, who can easily be considered the most important promoter of the Weinberg renaissance. Brunello’s Italianate, soulful tone suits the cantabile works extraordinarily well. The atmosphere of the Cold War seems to have evaporated. The fact that such seemingly brittle solo works are so catchy is the real aha effect of these recordings. Highly recommended.”

Full review available HERE