Grigory Sokolov


Grigory Sokolov

Grigory Sokolov is considered one of the world’s greatest living pianists. He amazes both public and critics alike; by using little pedal, and thus superior finger-work, he draws from the concert grand an immense variety of sounds; he has an unlimited palette of colours, a spontaneous imagination and a magical control of line. His interpretations are poetic and highly individual and he has an unbelievably wide repertoire ranging from the 12th century music of Perotinus through to 20th century composers.

Born in Leningrad, he began music studies when he was five years old and at the age of sixteen he embarked upon a great international career, having been awarded the First Prize at the Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow.

Grigory Sokolov is a regular guest of the most prestigious concert halls and festivals of Europe. He has worked with orchestras including the London Philharmonia, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, New York Philharmonic, Münchner Philharmoniker, Wiener Symphoniker, Montreal Symphony, Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala, Moscow and St. Petersburg Philharmonics, and has worked with many of the world’s most prominent conductors including Myung-Whung Chung, Valery Gergiev, Herbert Blomstedt, Neeme Järvi, Sakari Oramo, Trevor Pinnock, Andrew Litton, Walter Weller and Moshe Atzmon…


Date City Venue Country
01/02/15 Grigory Sokolov in CARPI Teatro Comunale IT
07/02/15 Grigory Sokolov in La Chaux-de-Fonds Salle de Musique CH
14/02/15 Grigory Sokolov in PISTOIA Palazzo de’ Rossi IT
18/02/15 Grigory Sokolov in BRUXELLES Bozar BE
23/02/15 Grigory Sokolov in GENOVA Teatro Carlo Felice IT
01/03/15 Grigory Sokolov in VALENCIA Palau de la Musica ES
03/03/15 Grigory Sokolov in ALICANTE tbc ES
05/03/15 Grigory Sokolov in ZARAGOZA Auditorio ES
07/03/15 Grigory Sokolov in BILBAO Sociedad Filarmonica ES
09/03/15 Grigory Sokolov in MADRID Auditorium Nacional ES



Recital program for the period October – December  2014

J.S. Bach     Partita No. 1 in B flat major BWV 825
Menuet I
Menuet II

L. van Beethoven   Sonata No. 7 in D major Op. 10 No. 3
Largo e mesto
Menuetto:  Allegro
Rondo:  Allegro

** ** **

F. Chopin      Sonata No. 3 in b minor Op. 58
Allegro maestoso
Scherzo: molto vivace
Finale – Presto non tanto – Agitato



Artists Management Company srl unipersonale
Piazza R. Simoni, 1E – 37122 Verona – Italy
T +39 045 8014041 / F +39 045 8014980 / E

Franco Panozzo

General manager